Quantum Physics for Babies

Though I don’t remember now the exact reason why, in 2013 I wanted to have a prop nerdy baby book. Probably to do something like this:

Initially I had quickly put together a bunch of pages to give it some girth and had it printed by  an online photobook printing company. It didn’t end up looking like a real book. But, my wife and kids liked it enough to encourage me to spend a little more time on the interior.

This time around I was determined to get it printed to look like a real book. Through some online research I came across CreateSpace, which is a self-publishing platform. It was easy enough to upload my files and order a copy for myself  (as the author, I just paid the shipping of $4). It turned out great. My daughter brought it to her preschool class and the teachers were all very excited about it. It was at that point when I clicked the button to have it go live on Amazon.com.

I was surprised that it started selling a few copies per day. Some initial positive reviews prompted me to write more books. I followed Quantum with Newtonian Physics for Babies and Optical Physics for Babies. Over the next few years things were going quite well. I was writing more books in my spare time and they were all selling a few copies per day. I didn’t think it was something I could make a living at, but it paid for coffee anyway. Then this happened:

As it turns out, Mark Zuckerberg is pretty popular. And, although he shared the book as a joke, I received lots of interest following this. I still don’t make a living from the books, but it is kind of fun when all your friends and colleagues think you are famous.

Since then, I’ve written some more books with some ideas that I’m really excited about. Stay tuned to find out more in the coming months.

4 thoughts on “Quantum Physics for Babies

  1. As an Electrical Engineer, I think your ideas have merit to inspire the next gen of scientists, researches, engineering and mathematicians. How about a book that explains the beginning concept of electrical flow, resistance and current. As an early student, I learned these concepts by the door analogy. Where the voltage is the # of students passing through a door way. The amperage is how fast they’re moving through the doorway and the doorway itself is the resistance. A bigger doorway (less resistance) and a smaller doorway (more resistance). Just food for thought but your concepts are awesome! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment